Commission for Travel & Leisure (USA)
International Centre for Cave Art
September 12, 1940, on the hill overlooking Montignac village, a team of 4 teenagers (Marcel Ravidat, Jacques Marsal, Simon Coencas and Georges Agniel) made one of the most prestigious 20th century archaeological discoveries. This cave is classified Historical Monument in December 1940.
For the first time, all of Lascaux is revealed. A complete new replica retraces the discovery of the famous decorated cave. The complete replica of the original cave is the culmination of three years of work in the Perigord Facsimile Studio. This new space welcomes visitors, inviting them to contemplate the works and experience the authentic emotion felt at the discovery of the cave, to observe, to enquire into the reasons for its existence and to reflect on the environmental and cultural context in which it was decorated.
The architecture of the International Centre forms an integral part of the visitor’s experience: a half-buried building at the foot of the Lascaux hill, it is perfectly integrated into the landscape. A gigantic glass front invites the public to visit a universe firmly focused on technological prowess.
source: Lascaux International Centre for Cave Art (Lascaux IV)